The world’s best public library

Skrevet af

Danmarks Biblioteksforening

8 august, 2016

Four libraries from respectively Australia, the US and Denmark has been nominated by an international judge committee for the Public Library of the Year Award 2016.

The winner of the award will be revealed on Monday August 15 2016, at the IFLA WLIC 2016 in Columbus, Ohio, USA. The award session will take place in the Columbus Metropolitan Library, Main Library, Larry Black Auditorium from 4.45pm – 6pm. The Danish Library Association will be present at the award ceremony, and at IFLA WLIC 2016 in general.

The 4 nominees are:

  • Chicago Public Library, Chinatown Branch, USA
  • Dokk1, Aarhus, Danmark
  • Geelong Library & Heritage Centre, Australa
  • Success Public Library, Australia

See reasons for nomination of the four libraries on the Modelprogramme’s web page.

More information about the prize and the 4 nominees.
The winner of the ‘Systematic – Public Library of the Year’ must be a newly build library or refurbished in buildings that have not previously been used as a library. The opening of the new library must have taken place in the period between 1 January 2014 and 1 June 2016. The prize is for $5000.

Chicago Public Library, Chinatown Branch, USA

Dokk1, Aarhus, Denmark

Geelong Library & Heritage Centre, Australien

Success Public Library, Australien


IFLA WLIC 2020 er aflyst

IFLA World Library and Information Congress 2020 i august i Dublin er blevet aflyst pga. coronakrisen. Dublin bliver i stedet værtsby i 2022. Forberedelserne til næste års IFLA ...

Skal du til IFLA for første gang – gratis?

Har du aldrig været på IFLAs årlige kongres tidligere, har du måske nu en chance for at komme med, næsten gratis. IFLA tilbyder nemlig, takket være støtte fra MyCEB, at ...